Jueves, 21 Setiembre 2017
Last News
Casa » Raikkonen to drive again for Ferrari in 2018 F1 championship

Raikkonen to drive again for Ferrari in 2018 F1 championship

22 Agosto 2017
Raikkonen to drive again for Ferrari in 2018 F1 championship

Raikkonen will drive for the Scuderia for a fifth-consecutive - eighth overall - season in 2018, Ferrari announced Tuesday.

He previously raced for Ferrari from 2007-09.

Congratulations, fans of mumbling weirdo in Formula One: Kimi Räikkönen is staying at Ferrari, reports Racer.

Raikkonen switched to Ferrari for 2007 and clinched the title in his first year with the squad, but departed at the end of 2009, bringing his time in Formula 1 to a halt.

Haas enjoys a close relationship with the Italian manufacturer, and it was plausible that it could further that relationship by loaning Grosjean to Ferrari in exchange for a discount on their power units. The decision to retain the Finn isn't surprising, as he entered the summer break on the heels of his second podium in as many races, though it still will have a fairly large impact on the driver market.

Ferrari retains Raikkonen for 2018 season
Former world champion Kimi Raikkonen to stay with Ferrari for another year

With Ferrari opting to keep Raikkonen onboard, a move Vettel has said he's in favor of, it's all but a sure thing that he'll be in Rosso Corsa next year.

"I think I have been public on the Sebastian issue, if he wants to stay he is more than welcome to stay", he said.

The rest of the 2018 grid are unlikely to offer Vettel a competitive drive, and while Fernando Alonso remains available with the Spaniard yet to confirm his future after three disastrous years at McLaren Honda, Vettel would be mad to leave a team that currently offers him a championship-winning car if the standings are anything to go by.

The announcement likely to help Vettel and Ferrari reach an agreement over the four times world champions own contract negotiations.

He last rejoined the outfit in 2014, but has not yet managed to win another race for the team - with his most recent F1 victory coming for Lotus in the 2013 Australian GP.